Printing experience: settings, suggestions, etc.

romualdas

First, big thanks to @raess and others for undertaking this.

Before I add my experience and thoughts here couple of things I have to mention:
- I have "original"/"experimental" chassis from the shop and used the robot for one season already. Had some minor issues and repairs here and there, but in the end of the day it served the whole summer well
- I am fairly new to 3D printing. I got my CR-10 maybe 2 months ago.
- I have no experience in Fusion360 or anything like that
- I don't expect things to go smooth both because of my lack of experience in the subject and understanding that this is still ongoing project.

So, here it goes.

I've decided to give it a try and print the robot parts. There are couple of reasons why I like it:
- Rear wheel drive (there are some places in my lawn near the trees, where front wheeler can get stuck)
- Possibility to have 2 mower discs (single one just barely manages to maintain lawn running 2 x 3.5 hours / day for ~1000m^2 of grass).
- nice looks (why not :) )

For printing I'm using Cura as slicer, PETG, micro-swiss full metal 0.6mm nozzle, 1.2mm walls (will try 1.8 for wheels), 20-50% octet infill

So far, I've got:
- Motor boxes and lids,
- mower boxes, holders and covers,
- chassis mounts
- battery box
- alu mounts
- PCB cover front and back
- Parts 4 and 11 (the frame for PCB box(?), which is not yet available in Thingiverse yet?)
- Part 3 (display holder on the back) and wheel arch (was part 1, but now gone from thingiverse, replaced by wheel parts)

As someone already mentioned, the wheel arch doesn't look sturdy enough and I broke it easily by trying to remove support material (it is somewhat harder to do that on with PETG).
Basically the area that holds wheel arch is ~35x7mm. Printing with 1.2mm shell is definitely not enough.
If the arch would connect to horinzontal plane throughout all length, it probably would be ok, as there wouldn't be much flex left.