Motors choice

sade54

Hi !

Im new to ardumower and want to build a version with IMU/GPS/Pathtracking because I just bought a house with 1500m² of not so green) lawn :p

But as a electronician and RC modelist , I'm curious about why a brushed motor is used as the mowing motor. Due to the conception of the blade , which partly relies on centrifuge power, a 'low' power brushless could be used with a better energy efficiency ?
Just a guess :whistle:

Moreover what is the exact ref and manufacturer of the motors used for wheel drive ? The pdf found on the shop does not point to the good datasheet ! ;)

Yann

20150130_0846021.jpg

The drive motors can be identical in construction to those engines.
DSMP420-24-212-BF

Not everyone mows every day.
1 week holiday and a motor without power fails.
[video width=425 height=344 type=youtube]Ccpqt9mn5HI[/video]
;)
Attachment: https://forum.ardumower.de/data/media/kunena/attachments/945/20150130_0846021.jpg/

Zuletzt bearbeitet von einem Moderator:
Thanks for the answer !

Do you think this one could be OK ?
http://www.superdroidrobots.com/shop/item.aspx/ig42-24vdc-right-angle-024-rpm-gear-motor-with-encoder/1829/

I am in the same situation as Yann; my main hobby are RC planes and copters. I am also wondering about the usage of brushless motors. I would like to find out if one of the (older) motors I have laying around could be used.

I have made this (see picture) to mount on a motor for testing. The size is based on what I have found (disk is 119 in diameter) and pictures I have seen on the knifes. But is look small to me... Who can help me, what is the exact size?

20150420_222204_resized.jpg

Thanks a lot!
Frederic
Attachment: https://forum.ardumower.de/data/media/kunena/attachments/1727/20150420_222204_resized.jpg/

Hallo Frederic,

sorry, my english isn`t good. Do you built your mower like the ardumower of the shop? You search for the diameter of the mower blade? Diameter is 190mm.

Marco

Hi Marco, thanks for the reply!